Three cell types required for the hemolytic antibody response have been defined based upon their differential sensitivities to treatment with actinomycin D: a) the thymus-derived cell that is insensitive to treatment with 1.0 µg/ml of actinomycin; b) the antibody-forming precursor cell, of bone marrow origin, that is inhibited by 0.1 to 1.0 µg/ml of actinomycin and c) an auxiliary cell that is extremely sensitive to treatment with 0.01 µg/ml of actinomycin. Utilizing these sensitivities to actinomycin we determined the repopulation of each of the three cell types in the irradiated mouse spleen.


This work was supported by NIH Grant AI-03 047.

This content is only available via PDF.