Two "gain and loss" type mutations of the H-2D region, the H- 2bm13 and H- 2bm14 , resulted in the expression of noncross-reactive CML determinants that are unique to each mutation, the Dbm13 gains and Dbm14 gains, respectively. According to the results of direct cytolytic and competitive inhibition assays of in vitro induced primary cytotoxic T lymphocytes, allogeneic responses specific for Dbm13 gains are generated by responders bearing the H-2b ( KbIbDb ) haplotype, but not by responders bearing the H- 2bm14 ( KbIbDbm14 ), KbIbDd , KbIbDk , or KbIb / qDq haplotype. Responses by the non-H-2b responders against Dbm13 are limited to those determinants shared by the Dbm13 and Db molecules. Because congenic mice differing only at the H-2D region are either responsive or nonresponsive to Dbm13 gains, the responsiveness is controlled by gene(s) in the H-2D region. F1 hybrid offspring of responsive (H-2b) and nonresponsive (non-H-2b) parents are invariably responsive, indicating genetic dominance of the responsiveness. In contrast to the response against Dbm13 gains, cytotoxicity specific for Dbm14 gains is generated by responders bearing the H-2b, H- 2bm13 , KbIbDd , KbIbDk , or KbIb / qDq haplotype. These data indicate the existence of two types of allogeneic MHC determinants; one, represented by Dbm14 gains, is the classic type capable of eliciting CML responses in mice of a wide range of H-2 haplotypes, whereas the other, exemplified by Dbm13 gains, elicits CTL responses only in mice of a few related haplotypes. It is proposed that recognition of Dbm13 gains is restricted by structures shared by Db and Dbm13 but missing from other D (or L, R, etc.) molecules, such as Dbm14 , Dd, Dk, and Dq. Availability of various restricting structures in self MHC molecules may thus influence the alloreactive CTL repertoire.

This content is only available via PDF.